Bachelorette for Nerds

Week 9

Ben Borovinsky
3 min readJul 9, 2019

Before I begin this week’s analysis, I came across some very important information.

We all know John Paul Jones as a contestant on this season of The Bachelorette, but have you heard of the naval commander named John Paul Jones? This maritime magician was an absolute badass during the Revolutionary War in sailing to the British Isles and ransacking Great Britain’s ships to sabotage the most powerful navy in the world. Had Hannah B. known this, I am confident John Paul Jones would have made it at least to hometowns.

BSR Performance This Week

Pre-Episode 9 BSR Scoreboard. All values shown (except preRose) are in their normalized form.

Obviously the BSR did nothing this week, so the average remains to be at 12-for-26 (.462) on the season.

Discussion

The episode understandably began with the most sure-thing of the contestants. He had the best save I could possibly imagine when Hannah B. found a condom in his car: “I practice safety in everything I do, including flying and other things.” He’s a legend. The only thing that seemed a bit weird was when he was having a conversation with his dad whilst drinking wine. Sipping on wine with your dad seems weird and too formal, whereas a beer (like Guinness) would have made it more casual and feel more real.

I am a big fan of Chubbies, and it looked like Tyler C. was sporting a pair of Chubbies-length swim trunks during Hannah B.’s visit. Her concerns for his mindset and emotional security are valid. While they have a strong physical connection, Hannah B. and Tyler C. may have the weakest emotional connection of the four.

I’m not sure if Luke P.’s sermon made me feel better about myself, but I guess it flies in his extremely agreeable Sunday School. His family was very reassuring in using many euphemisms to describe him, such as “he’s one of a kind in so many ways.” It certainly was a nice hometown for him, but I still hope that Hannah B. doesn’t choose Luke P. in the end.

Jed’s hometown activity was definitely the best, as it involved both him and Hannah B. to actively participate in the songwriting. I loved the “I’m gonna rip a cheers” during dinner. Such a bro. His mom was kinda ruthless, but her honesty was very refreshing. I’m not too concerned that Jed’s family will have a significant impact on Hannah B.’s potential future with Jed, using Cassie from last season of The Bachelor as an example. Finally, Hannah B. did say that she loves people who are “passionate about things.” Let’s hope she’s not around me when I see #palindromesInTheWild.

Predictions for Next Week

Post-Episode 9 BSR Scoreboard. All values shown (except preRose) are in their normalized form.

As you can see, the positions of our final four have not changed. Only some slight adjustments to the BSR, but Luke P. (-0.36) and Tyler C. (-0.13) are still predicted to be the next to go. I’m hoping Hannah B. will make a decision next week, unless she intends to marry all four of them.

--

--